Of Hair & Reality

My hair before the chop. Ugh. Boring.

This week I (finally) got my hair cut. I have been trying to grow it out since before Little E was born.
It has not looked so well.
Constantly in my face and tickling my nose.
I kept it because, well, I am a female and I am supposed to want long hair.
All the sexy ladies have loooong flowing strands

Source: tumblr.com via Chloe on Pinterest

(works well as a cover for topless-ness too I see)

Beautiful picture of chubby baby and long haired mamma.

Mermaids always have long hair.

I hate my hair when it is long(er).

I am not that female.
Or that mom.
Or a mermaid.

There is nothing wrong with being a gorgeous long-locked lady.
I am just not her.
My hair wasn’t made to be long, flowing and gorgeously full of body
Nope.
I am ok with this.

Just because I like short hair does not make me less of a female.

It’s just hair.
And yet, my ‘do IS one of the first things people see.
Aside from a smile of course!
I want the first impression I give to be authentic.
Truly, utterly and completely me.
Not who I am pretending to be, think I want to be or who I am trying to copy.

I am charged in this life with being me.
JUST ME.

I suck at being someone else.
Yup. Really suck.

Ironically and perfectly timed I heard this song yesterday
There can never be a More Beautiful You
     “You were made to fill a purpose, only you can do”
Indeed.
Plus,
You are amazing Just the Way You Are

Short, long, curly, straight.
Doesn’t matter.
As long as it is you
DO YOU!
      
Plus, have you seen Tangled?! A glowing example of a chick who rocks her hair-long, short, blonde, brown.

P.S. I took multiple pictures for the big “after” reveal and could not find one I liked. Still some more mental “I love me” work to be done. :sigh:

Be a first rate version of yourself, not a second rate version of someone else 
Judy Garland
Leave a Reply

